XLS Padlock lets you decide if you want your users to be able to save their changes in your Excel workbook or not. Tick or untick the option "Allow secure save" in the Security page.
Users can still use worksheets, write, delete… but when they close your workbook, changes will not be saved.
Your workbook will never be modified, it will always be the same at startup.
In some Excel versions, the Save button is not disabled, users can click it and the saving process seems to work; but in reality changes are ignored.
Your users will be able to modify your worksheets and save changes. They can click the usual Save button or use “File => Save” menu.
Your compiled workbook with changes made by your customers will be securely stored at the location specified by the customer in a file. This file is given the extension .XLSC and can’t be opened without running the compiled workbook again. Thus, your workbook remains safe.
A dialog box will appear, asking end users where they want to save a secure copy of the workbook:
The next time they run your application, users will have the choice to open your original workbook or to open a version they have saved, the last one, or a previous one (“Choose Save”):
Your original workbook will always be accessible. If you have protected your formulas, they will still be hidden in the differents savings.
VBA developers can use some VBA code extensions provided by XLS Padlock in their protected workbooks in order to save a secure copy of the workbook without prompt, or suggest a filename for the save dialog box.